For centuries, Native American people fished and hunted in the area. Starting in the mid-1800s,
the region was used for logging. In the early 20th century, the island became more accessible with
the advent of the automobile and a bridge between Camano Island and the mainland. Cottages and
fishing resorts were built. Between 1934 and 1989, Muriel and Lee Risk operated a fishing resort
at Cama. The Risk daughters took over the property in 1990, and shortly thereafter, discussions
began about turning the property into a park.
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission began acquiring land through a combination
of family donation and sale in 1994.
The vision of the park is to offer visitors a restful and relaxing getaway where they also can
learn about tribal cultures and Native people’s presence on the land. It is also about wooden
boat building and maritime culture through the Center for Wooden Boats. Retreat and dining
facilities are planned for the future.