Washington State law requires the operator of a recreational vessel involved in an accident
to file a Washington Boat Accident Report (PDF download) when:
- Loss of life occurs
- Injury occurs which requires medical treatment beyond first aid
- A person disappears from a vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury
- Property damage is in excess of $2,000, or there is complete loss of a vessel
If there is an injury, disappearance or death, a report must be submitted within 48 hours.
Reports in other accidents must be submitted within 10 days. If the operator cannot submit the
report, the owner of the vessel is responsible.
Reports must be submitted to the city or county law enforcement agency
that has authority where the accident occurred. If you are not sure what agency has the authority, contact the
Washington State Boating Programs by calling (360) 902-8555 or by e-mail at email@example.com.
The report by law is confidential and will only be used by government agencies for
statistical purposes. Failure of an operator to submit a report can result in a fine.