One permit provides access to state parks and recreation lands
The Discover Pass now can be used on either of two vehicles and you can choose the start date!
Annual pass: $30
$35 with transaction and dealer fees if purchased at a license dealer, by phone or online
One-day pass: $10
$11.50 with transaction and dealer fees if purchased at a license dealer, by phone or online
The Discover Pass allows you to enjoy millions of acres of Washington
state-managed recreation lands – including state parks, water-access points, heritage sites, wildlife and natural
areas, trails and trailheads.
The Discover Pass must be displayed on your vehicle when visiting
state recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington State Department
of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). The fine for not displaying
the pass is $99.
The Discover Pass may be purchased:
- In person from nearly 600 recreational license vendors where state fishing and hunting licenses are sold.
- Online through WDFW’s online recreation licensing system.
- By phone (866) 320-9933
- When you renew your vehicle license (Your pass will be mailed by the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and should arrive between 7 to 10 business days after the date of purchase.)
- At State Parks headquarters and region offices, and at state parks when staff is available. One-day passes also may be purchased at payment stations available at state parks.
Choose your start date: The "choose your start date" option is available when you purchase a Discover Pass online and at retail vendors that sell hunting and fishing licenses. At the time of purchase, you can activate the pass immediately or on any day within one year of the purchase date. This feature is ONLY available when purchasing the pass online and at retail vendors. You must pick your activation date at the time of purchase. When purchasing online, please allow 10 days for mailing when you select a future start date.
For information, visit online, send an e-mail or call toll free (866) 320-9933
Thank you for supporting Washington state recreation lands.
Your purchase of the Discover Pass supports recreation on state lands. However, you do not need to purchase
the pass under the following circumstances:
- Overnight visitors at state parks. If you are camping or renting overnight accommodations at a state park,
including vacation houses, environmental learning centers, yurts and cabins, you will not need a Discover Pass for access to the
park where you are renting your accommodations, for the duration of your stay. Your reservation stub or fee receipt will serve
as your pass. If you visit other state parks in the area or other state recreation lands managed by WDFW or DNR, you need a
- Hunting and fishing on WDFW-managed lands. When you buy a hunting and/or fishing license, you will receive
a vehicle access pass for WDFW-managed lands and won’t need the Discover Pass. You will still need the Discover Pass to hunt or
fish on DNR or State Parks land. As a reminder, there is no hunting on State Parks lands.
- Sno-Park seasonal permit holders: You do not need a Discover Pass to use a designated Sno-Park between Nov. 1
and March 31 for winter recreation activities. The Sno-Park permit exception does not apply to non-winter recreation activities.
- Off-Road Vehicle (ORVs): If your ORV is required to display an ORV tab, you do not need a Discover Pass for
that vehicle. Generally, ORVs are non street-legal vehicles. You will need a Discover Pass for the street-legal vehicle that transports
your ORV to a state recreation site. The trailer does not require a pass.
- Disabled veterans and other State Parks pass holders: Qualified disabled veterans and other qualified State Parks
pass holders registered through State Parks do not need to purchase a Discover Pass for access to Washington state parks. They will
need to purchase the Discover Pass for access to lands managed by WDFW and DNR.
- State Parks boat launch sites. You will not need a Discover Pass to launch your boat from a State Parks boat
launch if you have the Natural Investment Permit. You will need the Discover Pass for boat launches managed by DNR and WDFW.
- Volunteers. Volunteers who work 24 hours or more on agency-approved projects are eligible for a complimentary
- Those with certain written agreements with agencies. Individuals or parties with written authorizations including,
but not limited to, leases, contracts and easements do not need to purchase a Discover Pass to access state recreation lands.
Please note: Even though the pass is not required in these cases, your purchase helps to maintain, manage and operate
state recreation lands. As funding for recreation shifts from tax support to user fees, the responsibility to cover the costs of these
exemptions will shift from the general public to visitors. You also may continue to donate to Washington State Parks when you register a
vehicle through the Department of Licensing.