News Release 11-048
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road S.W., P.O. Box 42650, Olympia, WA 98504-2650, (360) 902-8500
Don Hoch, Director
Sandy Mealing, State Parks, (360) 902-8559
Bryan Flint, DNR, (360) 902-1023
Craig Bartlett, WDFW, (360) 902-2259
Discover Pass sales through July reported
Aug. 24, 2011 –
During the first six weeks of sales, the new Discover Pass raised $2,914,434 in revenue to support state parks and other public recreation lands in Washington.
Of that total, $1,008,469 in pass sales during July were reported at state parks and another $1,905,965 were made through the Washington Interactive Licensing Database (WILD) managed by Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) through a private business vendor.
Don Hoch, Washington State Parks director, said those sales are critical to the future of state parks, which must now rely on user fees and donations to cover costs. WDFW and the state Department of Natural Resources also receive a percentage of those fees to maintain public access to lands they manage.
“Public support has been essential as we begin this new program aimed at preserving public access to recreation lands,” Hoch said. “It’s heartening that Washington citizens are willing to help keep their recreation lands open and operating. And we are optimistic that sales will continue to grow to help fund our state recreation lands.”
WDFW Director Phil Anderson said sales figures during the months ahead will provide a good indication of public support for the Discover Pass and the future of state parks and other public lands.
“It’s hard to tell much from one month of data,” Anderson said. “The public is still learning about this program and sales outlets will increase substantially in October when state vehicle licensing offices start selling the Discover Pass.”
Under legislation approved earlier this year, the Discover Pass is now required for access to recreation lands managed by the State Parks and Recreation Commission, WDFW and DNR.
The Discover Pass sells for $30 annual ($10 one-day) and allows access to nearly 7 million acres of state recreation lands, including parks, trails, wildlife and natural areas and water-access sites. Transaction and dealer fees apply to purchases through the nearly 600 WILD system vendors as well as online and telephone sales.
Beginning with October license renewals through Department of Licensing (DOL), vehicle owners will have the option to purchase the Discover Pass for $30 when renewing their vehicle tabs. Buyers of the pass through the DOL process will receive their passes in the mail from WDFW within 10 business days of renewal and purchase.
The 2011 Legislature created the Discover Pass to replace $65 million in reduced state general fund (tax revenue) support for the maintenance and operations of state recreation lands. The agencies that manage state parks and state recreation lands must now rely on user fees and donations to cover costs. Less than two months after the Governor signed the bill establishing the Discover Pass, it was made widely available to the public.
For more information and to buy the Discover Pass, visit online at www.discoverpass.wa.gov or call (866) 320-9933.