News Release 12-084
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road S.W., P.O. Box 42650, Olympia, WA 98504-2650, (360) 902-8500
Don Hoch, Director
Julie Pigott, (360) 240-5584 email@example.com
Hilary Schult, (360) 902-8604 Hilary.Schult@parks.wa.gov
Wash. Telecommunications Relay Service: (800) 833-6388
Public invited to commemorate completion of Admiralty Head lantern house at Fort Casey State Park
Aug. 27, 2012 –
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and WSU Extension of Island County Lighthouse Program invite the public to the dedication of the Admiralty Head Lighthouse lantern house at Fort Casey State Park on Whidbey Island.
The event runs from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Sept. 8 at Fort Casey State Park, 1280 South Engle Road in Coupeville. State Parks and the WSU Extension of Island County Lighthouse Program will be recognizing the students, teachers and administrators involved in the completion of the newly installed lantern house as well as major project donors. Guest speakers will include Sen. Mary Margaret Haugen, D-Camano Island. The event is free. The Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to the dedication.
The lantern house was constructed as a two-year, student-led project by three Whidbey Island high schools. Advanced metals students from Coupeville, Oak Harbor and South Whidbey high schools worked with supervision from Nichols Brothers Boat Builders to design a historically accurate lantern house replica using original lighthouse blueprints. Community donors supplied resources, including steel and equipment, for the project. Volunteers from South Whidbey High School, Nichols Brothers Boat Builders, Lighthouse Docents and Island Crane installed the new lantern house on Aug. 23.
The dedication is presented in partnership by the WSU Extension of Island County Lighthouse Program and Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission. For more information about the WSU Extension of Island County Lighthouse Program, visit www.admiraltyhead.wsu.edu.
Construction of the lantern house was completed with donation support and partnerships by Nichols Brothers Boat Builders; Lighthouse Environmental Programs; Coupeville Festival Association; Island Crane; Sea Port Steel; Argonaut Marine; Keepers of the Admiralty Head Lighthouse; South Whidbey, Coupeville and Oak Harbor school districts; WSU Extension Island County Lighthouse Program and the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission.
Fort Casey State Park is a 467-acre marine park near Coupeville. The camping park has sweeping views of Admiralty Inlet and the Strait of Juan de Fuca and is home to Admiralty Head Lighthouse. A former coastal artillery post, Fort Casey, along with Fort Worden and Fort Flagler, were said to comprise a “triangle of fire” guarding the entrance of Puget Sound. Two 10-inch and two 3-inch historic guns on display at the park. When the fort was constructed, the old lighthouse had to be moved. The Admiralty Head Lighthouse visitors may explore today was built on the present site in 1903, now serving as a historic landmark and interpretive center. The park is part of the Ebey’s Landing National Historic Reserve.
Stay connected to your state parks by following Washington State Parks at www.facebook.com/WashingtonStateParks, www.twitter.com/WaStatePks_NEWS and www.youtube.com/WashingtonStateParks. Share your favorite state park adventure on the new State Parks’ blog site at www.AdventureAwaits.com.
The Commission manages a diverse system of more than 100 state parks and recreation programs, including long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation. The 99-year-old park system will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2013.
Support state parks by purchasing your annual Discover Pass today, and enjoy a whole year of outdoor fun on Washington’s beautiful state-managed recreation lands. For more information, visit www.discoverpass.wa.gov.