Obstruction Pass State Park is an 80-acre camping park on the south end of Orcas Island in San Juan Couty, south of Moran State Park. The park is one of the few spots on Orcas Island with access to more than one mile of publicly-owned saltwater shoreline. A half–mile trail leads visitors from the parking area to the campground and beach access. There are several fine gravel pockets of beach and moderate to high bank waterfront on the remainder of the property.Want to support Washington State Parks? Get involved by joining a friends' group. For more information, visit the Friends' Group web page.
Summer: 6:30 to dusk
Winter: 8 a.m. to dusk
The park is open year round for camping and day use.
Check-in time, 2:30 p.m.
Check-out time, 1 p.m.
Quiet hours: 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.
Winter Schedule for all Washington State Parks
Please note: There is no potable water at Obstruction Pass State Park. Please plan accordingly and carry your own water into the campground and beach area. Obstruction Pass is a pack-it-in, pack-it-out facility, please carry out all trash.
Don't move firewood: Please protect the Pacific Northwest from invasive species by obtaining or purchasing your firewood at or near your camping destination (within 50 miles). Firewood can carry insects and diseases that threaten the health of our western forests. You can make a difference by buying and burning your firewood locally. For more information, visit online at www.dontmovefirewood.org or the Washington Invasive Species Council website.
The Discover Pass now can be used on either of two vehicles!Annual pass: $30
One-day pass: $10
(Transaction and dealer fees may apply)
A Discover Pass is required for motor-vehicle access to state parks and recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Washington State Department of Natural Resources. Exemptions:
Your purchase of the Discover Pass supports recreation on state lands. However, the Discover Pass is not required if you are camping or renting overnight accommodations, for the duration of your stay at that state park. For additional exemptions and more information, please visit the Discover Pass website
The park has nine tent spaces, one Cascadia Marine Trail campsite and four restrooms (two in the campground, two at the trailhead). All campsites are first come, first served. The Cascadia Marine Trail tent site is for use by canoers and kayakers only.
2013 camping fees:
Please note that the following general
fee information is not customized for each individual park, so not all
fees will apply to all
parks (for example, primitive campsite and dump station fees listed apply only to parks that have primitive campsites and dump stations).
May 15 – Sept. 15 (peak season)
Primitive campsite and water trail camping: $12
Standard campsite: $23 non-premium site, $26 premium site
Partial-utility campsite*: $30 non-premium site, $35 premium site
Full-utility campsite*: $32 non-premium site, $37 premium site
*Please note: Camping fees during the 2013 peak season are $28 for partial-utility sites and $29 for full-utility sites at Beacon Rock, Lewis & Clark and Schafer state parks. These parks are first come, first served.
Jan. 1 – May 14 and Sept. 16 – Dec. 31 (off-peak season)
Primitive campsite and water trail camping: $12
Standard campsite: $22 for non-premium and premium sites
Partial-utility campsite: $28 for non-premium and premium sites
Full-utility campsite: $29 for non-premium and premium sites
Maximum eight people per campsite.
Second vehicle: $10 per night is charged for a second vehicle unless it is towed by a recreational vehicle. Extra vehicles must be parked in designated campsite or extra vehicle parking spaces.
Dump stations (if available): Year-round dump station fees are $5 per use. If you are camping, this fee is included in your campsite fee.
More about park hours
Check-in time is 2:30 p.m., and check-out time is 1 p.m.
Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m.
Engine-driven electric generators may be operated only between the hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.
Length of stay: You may stay up to ten consecutive days in any one park from April 1 through Sept. 30; the stay limit is extended to 20 days between Oct. 1 and March 31.
Located on the south end of Orcas Island in San Juan County.
Take Highway 20 exit westbound to Anacortes. Follow signs to San Juan/Sidney B.C. ferries. Take the ferry to Orcas Island. Turn left after exiting the ferry, and follow signs to Moran State Park (approximately 14 miles). Drive through Moran and turn left at the Olga Artworks. After a half-mile take a right on to Obstruction Pass road. Follow the road to the trailhead and parking lot. It is a 0.6 mile hike to the campground and beach.
Obstruction Pass downloadable pdf map #1
List of all downloadable Washington State Park maps
Obstruction Pass State Park is one of the few locations on Orcas Island with public beach access. The park is a popular destination for wildlife viewing and beach exploration. Cormorants, robins, swallows, sparrows, chitons, sea cucumbers and gunnels are common sights at the park and the area is rich in local plantlife, including oceanspray and salal. Moran State Park is just north of Obstruction Pass.
Obstruction Pass was formerly managed by the Department of Natural Resources and has been under the care of Washington State Parks since 2005.
There is a self-guided interpretive trail along the 0.6-mile trail to Obstruction Pass beach. The trail includes information about the geology, ecology and the cultural significance of Obstruction Pass and Orcas Island.
|Available in the park ||Available in the area|
|• Camping||• Groceries|
There are no services or supplies available at Obstruction Pass State Park.
Water, food, firewood and other supplies can be purchased in Eastsound. There is a medical clinic in Eastsound.
|• 0.6 mi. Hiking Trails||• Fishing (saltwater)|
• Personal Watercraft (saltwater)
|• Beach Exploration|
• Bird Watching
• Interpretive Activities
• Wildlife Viewing
A recreational license is required for fishing and shellfish harvesting at Washington state parks. For regulations, fishing season information or to purchase a recreational license, visit the Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife website.
Free days at state parks
: Visit Washington state parks for free. The Discover Pass is not required to visit a state park on ten designated free days in 2013.
The 2013 State Parks free days are as follows:
Jan. 21 – In honor of Martin Luther King Day
March 30 – In honor of Washington State Parks' 100th birthday on March 19
April 27 and 28 – National Parks Week
June 1 – National Trails Day
June 8 and 9 – National Get Outdoors Day and Department of Fish and Wildlife Free Fishing weekend
Aug. 4 – Peak season free day
Sept. 28 – National Public Lands Day
Nov. 9 through 11 – Veteran's Day weekend
Please note: A Discover Pass is still required to access lands managed by the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife during State Parks free days. For more information, please visit www.discoverpass.wa.gov
Full list of events
at Washington State Parks
Picnic and Day-use Facilities
Restrooms, fire pits and picnic tables are provided. Water is not available at the park.
|Mammals||Birds||Fish & Sea Life|
|• Deer or Elk|
|• Crows or Ravens|
|Physical Features|| ||Plant Life|| |
| ||• Cedar|
• Douglas Fir
• Moss or Lichens
Park photo gallery