1805 To the Pacific – Down the Columbia, moving fast
On Oct. 22, 1805, the Corps of Discovery paddled quickly by the present site of
Maryhill State Park. Clark noted they
'passed a verry bad rapid at the head of an Island close under the Stard. Side,
above this rapid on the Stard Side is Six Lodges of nativs Drying fish.' It is
likely that the six lodges stood somewhere within the present-day state park.
1806 The Return Home – Up the Columbia, on foot and afloat
By the time the Expedition reached the site of Maryhill State Park on their 1806
return journey, they had traded away most of the canoes. The majority of the
Expedition members were now on foot, leading pack horses loaded with their baggage.
Men in the last two canoes paddled against the spring current. These canoes would
be traded for horses in a few more miles.
Just west of today's state park, steep cliffs next to the river forced the
land-based explorers to follow Indian trails up and over the high cliffs. When they
dropped back down to the level of the river, they passed through the landscape now
known as Maryhill State Park.
Today, visitors can walk, picnic, camp and enjoy the beautiful setting, where
the members of the Lewis and Clark Expedition walked in 1806.
Next section of journey history
Return to Lewis and Clark Main Menu